Adams County offices will be reopening on Tuesday, June 2, with some limitations on our services. We will be operating on an appointment-only schedule and our hours will change to 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.*, Tuesday through Friday. Buildings will be closed on Mondays.
*Appointments will be scheduled 7:15 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. You can schedule an appointment online or by calling 720.523.6020.
To ensure the health and safety of you and our Recording staff, a mask and temperature check are required to enter the Adams County Government Center. We also ask that you continue to practice social distancing throughout your appointment.
Marriage/Civil Union Licenses will be available by appointment only.
- Fill out the online application
- Print or save the Transaction ID number
- Call 720.523.6020 to schedule your appointment or visit our online scheduler
Please call 720.523.6020 to make your appointment or for any questions, concerns, or more information.
*Marriage/Civil Union Licenses will be issued by appointment only. Please fill out the Marriage or Civil Union License Application online. Once the application is filled out and you get your Transaction ID number, please call us to set up your appointment. After you’ve scheduled an appointment, you will receive an email outlining our new process for the issuance of your license. Wearing a mask and a temperature check are required before you can enter the building. Please know that no family or friends will be allowed to accompany you into the building—only the applicants are allowed. You will receive a reminder text one hour before your appointment. Please remain in your car until you receive a text letting you know that your number has been called.
Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials! Our knowledgeable staff would be honored to issue you a marriage or civil union license. We are here Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. (excluding holidays) to assist you.
You are welcome to fill out the marriage license application or civil union license application ahead of time (links also provided at the bottom of the page). Be sure to fill out your parents’ information; it is required by the state regardless of the age of the applicants. Please bring the transaction number that you receive after submitting your application.
The fee for the license is $30; you may also pre-purchase certified copies of the marriage license for $1.25 each.
Hours of Issuance
Beginning Tuesday, June 2, the issuance of Marriage and Civil Union Licenses will be Tuesday-Friday, 7:15 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Our office is closed on Mondays.
- Please be in the office by 4 p.m. to ensure time to issue your license.
- Marriage and Civil Union Licenses may be issued by any county you choose and be used anywhere in the State of Colorado.
- Colorado Marriage and Civil Union Licenses are not valid if used or signed outside of the state.
- The license and the certificate appear together on the document. Please do not separate them for any reason.
- Once issued, the certificate portion must be filled out within 35 days. Once the certificate is filled out, you then have 63 days to return it to our office for recording.
- Applicants do not need to be residents of Colorado to obtain the Marriage or Civil Union License.
- Applicants are required to swear and sign under oath that all information on the application is true and correct to the best of their knowledge.
- To ensure the privacy of our customers and due to the sensitive nature of the documents in our office, we do not allow ceremonies to be performed or photos taken in our office and/or lobby.
- Applicants must provide proof of identity and date of birth. Acceptable forms of I.D. include:
- Current Drivers’ License
- Military Identification
- State-issued I.D.
- Social Security Numbers are required for both parties. If a Social Security Number has not been issued for one or both of the applicants, an affidavit must be signed at the time of the application. (Social Security Affidavits: marriage licenses and civil union licenses; also available at the bottom of the page.)
- The legal age to get married or to obtain a civil union license is 18 years of age.
- Due to the passing of HB19-1316, persons under 16 cannot obtain a marriage license.
- A person who is 16 or 17 years old can only obtain a marriage license with a court order. Parental consent is no longer accepted.
- Both parties must appear in person to complete and sign the Marriage or Civil Union License application.
- If one party is unable to appear in person, they must complete an Absentee Affidavit (marriage license absentee affidavit and civil union absentee affidavit) and have their signature notarized on the document. The party who can show up in person must bring in the completed Absentee Affidavit along with the I.D. (or a copy of the I.D.) of the absent party.
- If either party has previously been married or in a civil union, they must provide the date, city, and state where the marriage or civil union was absolved. If this information is not known, our clerks will attempt to look it up. If the divorce or dissolution took place in a different state, you may have to contact the court where it took place to obtain the date.
- If the party to the previous marriage was widowed, the applicant must provide the date, city, and state where the decedent passed.
- Please note: If either applicant was previously in a civil union, the name of the previous spouse/partner is required.
After our clerk verifies all the information on the application, they will print the application. Applicants are required to swear and sign under oath that all the information contained in the document is true and correct to the best of their knowledge.
There are three types of ceremonies that are legal in Colorado.
- Religious: A marriage solemnized by a religious officiant or Indian Nation or Tribe.
- Civil: A marriage solemnized by a judge of the court, a court magistrate, a retired judge of the court, or a public official whose powers include solemnization of a marriage.
- Self-solemnization: A marriage may be solemnized by the parties to the marriage.
Forms & Resources
- Social Security Affidavit for Civil Union License
- Social Security Affidavit for Marriage License
- Civil Union Absentee Affidavit
- Marriage License Absentee Affidavit
- Marriage License Information Guide
More questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions page.
Brighton, CO 80601
Tuesday - Friday, 7 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., services available by appointment only.*
Issuance of Marriage and Civil Union License
7 a.m. – 5:30 p.m., by appointment only.*
*Appointments can be scheduled online or over the phone at 720.523.6020. Appointments are available between 7:15 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.